Alternative Cleaning Methods for Cascade Plastic Booster 2 in 1 Plastic Cleaning Additive

Cascade Plastiv Booster 2 in 1 Plastic Cleaning AdditiveSince Cascade Plastic Booster 2 in 1 Plastic Cleaning Additive was discontinued, we’ve had to find alternative methods for keeping our plastic ware clean and free from odors. Below are some effective alternatives you might consider trying:

“Season” your plastic ware as you would a new iron skillet or wooden salad bowl. Oil or Cooking Spray Can Be Used to Protect Plastic WareBefore each use, coat the inside and bottom of lid with olive oil to protect it. You might also try vegetable oil or cooking spray.

Try some Alka Seltzer. Alka Seltzer contains citric acid which is known Alka Seltzer Can Be Used to Clean Plastic Warefor it’s cleaning ability. Fill your plastic ware with warm water, drop an Alka Seltzer in, let it soak, wash as usual.

Citric Acid Can Be Effective for Cleaning Plastic WareStaying with the citric acid approach, try rubbing your plastic ware with a lemon or a fresh lemon substitute like Realemon and set in the sun for up to a day.

Try some Efferdent. It cleans dentures so why not plastic ware? Fill your plastic Efferdent Can Be Used to Clean Plastic Wareware with water, drop in 2 Efferdent tablets, let soak over night then wash as usual.

Hand Sanitizer Can Be Used to Clean Plastic WareHand sanitizer, like Purell, can be effective. Use a little when washing your plastic ware.

By far the very best advice….NEVER introduce heat. Plastics absorb Clean Plastic Ware With Warm Waterodors and colors when heated. There is also some evidence that plastics release cancer causing carcinogens when microwaved so you should never microwave in plastic anyway. Also, once you’ve “microwaved” a stain in, it’s hard to get it out. Let foods cool before storing, never microwave in plastic and before cleaning, rinse with cooler water.

Visit BAFilterSupply.com to find other helpful household products!

17 responses

  1. You say to NEVER introduce heat to plastic. I have microwave safe Tupperware, and I heat chili, spaghetti sauce, tomato soup, etc. in it & although it stains, the Cascade Plastic Booster 2-in-1 ALWAYS gats the red out! I really HATE the fact that Cascade discontinued it. Why did they discontinue it?

    1. Thanks for the comment! We’ve been told by Proctor and Gamble that their Plastic Booster was discontinued because of lack of interest. Below is the response we received:

      Thanks for writing.

      I’m sorry, but Cascade Plastic Booster has been discontinued and it’s no longer available. Generally, decisions to start or stop making products are based on consumer demand, so feedback like yours is extremely valuable. Please be assured I’m sharing your disappointment with the rest of our team.

      Since I don’t have a recommendation for you at this time, you may want to check our brand websites for information about our current products. You might find a new favorite!

      Thanks again for contacting us.

      Donna
      Cascade Team

      As for your Tupperware staining, you might try one of the suggestions in the post. But, when cleaning or using any plastic item, you shouldn’t introduce heat. You should always use warm, soapy water for cleaning the inside of your refrigerator, your plastic ware, a humidifier… This is because plastics absorb odors and stain when they are heated. I would also suggest microwaving in glass. It’s a bit more work but your plastic ware will last longer :)

      1. I think that the Cascade Plastic 2 in 1 Booster was the best, I believe it did not have a lot of interest because people did not know about it. I just happened to try it one day and was hooked! I found myself purchasing several bottles at at time when I could find it because it was always gone off the shelves. I really wish they would bring it back.
        Sincerely,
        Christi Przilas

    2. Please bring Plastic Booster back!!! Acne Medicine is too expensive to use on plastic or tupperware bowls.

  2. I was skeptical, but buy a tube of cheap 10% Benzoil Peroxide (Acne Medicine) at your local drug store or Walmart ($3). Smear it on the red tomato sauce stain and fill the bowl with warm water. I checked back in an hour and it was clean!

    1. Thanks for the tip to clean plastic using Acne Medicine. I will try that. I loved Cascade Plastic Booster. It worked great! Why do companies always pull good items off the shelves when they work… :(

  3. Please bring the Cascade plastic booster back. It is so great. I have been everywhere to find it

  4. Karrie Froemke | Reply

    I also really like the Cascade Plastic Booster. It worked great. I am very dissappointed that I will have to find something else to use in place of this product.

  5. I use my Cascade Plastic Booster very sparingly because I know that I can’t get it anymore. Please, please, please bring it back.

    1. Patti Williams | Reply

      I tried “Seasoning” my plastic ware to no avail. I really wish they would bring back the “Cascade Plastic Booster”! I bought 10 bottles at one time and had I known they were going to discontinue it, I would not have given 5 of them away to they kids!! :’(

  6. PLEASE BRING PLASTIC BOOSTER BACK. IT WAS THE ONLY THING THAT GOT THE RED OUT OF MY PLASTIC WARE. MAYBE NEXT TIME, A LITTLE MORE ADVERTISING WOULD MAKE MORE PEOPLE AWARE OF THIS WONDERFUL PRODUCT.

  7. Agree totally. I loved that stuff. Please bring it back!

  8. Have been looking all over the Internet for the Plastic Booster, please bring this product back and I agree a little advertising would work wonders for this product,get the word out and it will be a great seller.

  9. Plastic Booster was the best item out there for cleaning all your plastic items
    PLEASE BRING BACK!!

  10. Plastic Booster needs to be brought back-Best cleaning product out there for plastics

  11. Please bring back the plastic booster not only did it clean my plastics, but it also cleaned the discoloration from inside my dishwasher that is caused by the high iron content in our well water.

  12. I love it. Bring it back. Why did cascade stop making it anyway?

Leave a Reply

